

Virginia Schrader, Director

409 Eagles Way, North Conway, NH 03860

School Board Report Monday, April 9, 2018

Career Technical Student Organizations (CTSOs) Spring Competition Update:

DECA Marketing Club - Eight students traveled to Manchester mid-February to compete in the annual competition for marketing and business students. Winners include:

1st Place Apparel and Accessories Marketing: Alexandra lannuzzi 1st Place Quick Serve Restaurant Management: Ellory Kearns



Phone: 603-356-4370

Educators Rising - Congratulations to all our Teacher Education students who participated in Educators Rising State Competition in Concord on March 10th. We placed in the top 5 in 4 of our 8 events:

4th place Children's Literature K-3: Olivia Stewart & Taylor Nusbaum

5th place Creative Lecture (TED Talk) Samantha Villnave 4th place Educators Rising Moment: Danielle Solomon 5th place Exploring Support Services Careers: Megan Martin



HOSA (Health Occupations Students of America) - In mid-March, MWVCTC Health Occupations Students of America (HOSA) students traveled to Hanover, NH for the 38th Annual NH/VT Spring Leadership Conference at Dartmouth College. The chapter won an overall Outstanding Chapter award. Additionally the following students placed in the top 5 of their knowledge tests (quite an achievement as over 300 students took the exams): Emily Putnam – Human Growth and Development

Glennys Chambers – Pathophysiology Sophie Stimpson – Medical Law & Ethics Emily Fournier and Laura Dennis - Community Awareness



Skills USA – Our Automotive, Building Trades, CADD, Computer Programming, Graphic Arts, and Machine Tool programs all compete during the competition season under the auspices of Skills USA, a partnership of students, teachers and industry representatives working together to ensure America has a skilled workforce. This year the MWVCTC had 27 students compete in 9 different events: Advertising

Design, Photography, TV Video Production, Technical Drafting, Architectural Drafting, CNC Milling, Automotive Service Technology, Carpentry, and Computer Programming.

Winners this year include:

3rd Place Bronze Advertising Design: Maggie Miller

1st Place Gold CNC Milling: Jeffrey Miller

2nd Place Silver CNC Milling: Zach Phaneuf

3rd Place Bronze CNC Milling: Nick Heysler

2nd Place Silver Photography: Samantha Provencher

2nd Place Silver Computer Programing: William Alber

3rd Place Bronze Computer Programming: Emmet Mayer



FBLA (Future Business Leaders of America) – Congratulations to our Future Business Leaders and their success at the Spring Leadership Conference in Manchester. Winners this year include:

2nd Place Intro to Business Presentation: Nicole Lockhart Rios

3rd Place NH FBLA Feeds NH: Kennett FBLA Chapter



MWVCTC Student of the Year – This year's student of the year has an illustrious track record of academic and non-academic achievements. He is an independent and reflective student that takes initiative in all his classes and has boundless creativity. This student is a responsible Kennett citizen exuding positive values, school spirit and commitment. He has proven himself a capable leader in the classroom, in the school and in all his athletic pursuits. He truly is a role model for all students here at the high school and will certainly be a future leader of his generation. I'm proud to announce the MWVCTC Student of the Year is Mackenzie Murphy.



National Technical Honor Society:

The mission of NTHS is to honor student achievement and leadership in career and technical education, promote educational excellence, award scholarships, and enhance career opportunities for members. In order to be considered, students must be

- Nominated by a CTE teacher
- Evaluated by teachers on professional qualities
- Maintain an 80 or above average for all academics
- Maintain an 88 or above average for all CTE classes
- Complete a portfolio that includes a reference letter, transcript, a letter stating why student believes they should be accepted, and examples of work completed in CTE class.

Portfolios are to be compiled and presented in a professional manner and in accordance with NTHS standards. Induction ceremony will take place on Thursday, April 12, 2018 in the KHS Auditorium at 5:00pm.

National Technical Honor Society Inductees 2017-18

| Machine Tool | Marketing | Health Science | CADD | Computer Programming | Business | Teacher Ed |
|-----------------|---------------------|---------------------|-----------------|----------------------|--------------------|---------------------|
| | | | | | | |
| Jon Brooks | Kelsey Bush | Ashley Ames | Adam Bourque | William Alber | Anne Nartowicz | Zara Cheney |
| Kyle Buffelli | Anna Cummings | Hallie Anthony | Eric Smith | Emmet Mayer | Megan Stokes | Kiana Cheney |
| Nikolas Heysler | Alex lannuzzi | Erin Curran | | | Hailey Tofflemoyer | Megan Martin |
| Liam O'Keefe | Lukas Narducci | Rebekah Eldridge | | | Violet Webster | Danielle Solomon |
| Jeffrey Palmer | Taylor Nausbaum | Maggie Illsley | | | | Olivia Stewart |
| Trey Snowden | Ethan Robitaille | Hannah Palmer | | | | |
| Dylan West | Abby Ross | Felicity Winters | | | | |
| Chase Lee | | | | | | |